The Missing Paragraph

If you read my review of the Columbus Symphony Orchestra’s concert of Friday, May 12, 2017, you might have noticed that some important detail was missing.

A paragraph containing the name of the composer and the title of the final work on the program was edited out in its entirety and, it seems, left on the cutting room floor. That paragraph also gave a nod to some lovely solo playing by the Columbus Symphony Orchestra’s acting concertmaster.

In case you’d like to read the part of the review that was edited out, below in boldface is the missing paragraph as I submitted it and in its original context – that is, between its preceding and following paragraphs as intended:

Ruan (Chinese lute) soloist Sun Li opened the fifth movement, Rhythm, with a spirited solo set to a funky beat. In the final movement, The Grand Canal, the orchestra reprised music from earlier movements with conviction and flair, which the audience rewarded with a standing ovation.

Rimsky-Korsakov’s Scheherazade opened with stentorian flourish. A lovely solo by acting concertmaster Joanna Frankel led to the full orchestra’s rhapsodic undulations in the first movement, The Sea and Sinbad’s Ship.

Wonderful solos in the woodwinds decorated the second movement, The Story of the Kalendar Prince, though the tempo throughout seemed a bit stodgy and the ensemble could have been crisper.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s